Today I am sad…

Today I am sad and I haven’t blogged in a really really long time and that is because something kinda bad happened to me a few weeks ago…

I broke up with my boyfriend of two years a short while ago and I was absolutely devastated. As this was my first relationship I feel like it has affected me a lot more than another relationship break-up would. However, after doing a lot of thinking about this things that have happened to me over the past few years I decided that I would try and take something positive from this whole situation.

Over the past two years I have met so many amazing people (including my ex), I have got over halfway through my degree which I never thought I would manage and I have grown so much as a person because of all the good and bad things that have happened to me.

Although I am still very, very sad about losing one of the most important people in my life I am doing ok. I still miss him everyday and I wish I could go back and change everything that happened but I am a firm believer that everything in life happens for a reason. Did I love him with all of my heart? Yes. Did I see myself spending the rest of my life with this person? Absolutely. But was it meant to be? Clearly not. For whatever reason our relationship had to end. I still don’t know why but I know that although at the time it felt like the end of the world and that I would never find anyone who I could love as much as him, I am still so young. I have my whole life ahead of me and so does he. Maybe some day our paths will cross but for now our stories must drift apart.

I would never wish this pain that I am feeling upon my worst enemy because losing someone who is such a big part of your life just leaves this black, empty space in your heart. We need to fill that space with positivity and love for what we haven’t lost. I am in no way saying that the person can be replaced but what is past is past and we cannot change it. I still have the most amazing friends who have helped me so much with everything. My family love me, I’m doing so well in a degree that I was convinced I was going to fail at the beginning of the year.

Going through break-ups are never going to be easy but with time and surrounding yourself with the people you love you can and will move on. I still have such a long way to go but I now at least feel confident that the world is not against me and I am on the right path.


Abbie ♥

4 thoughts on “Today I am sad…

  1. Awww….we’ve all been there but I’m glad to see you focus on the positive instead of the negative. It may hurt now but you will get that good guy in your life. ☺️ Stay hopeful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

