Blogging is Hard

The main reason I started this blog was because it was suggested to me by a careers adviser. She told me that because I’m interested in journalism and media that it would be a good idea for me to have a blog where I could practice writing and get some work in my portfolio. I wanted my blog to be a place where I could write my thoughts and feelings on everyday topics, ideas and events. Sort of like a diary, but a diary that people would read.

The thing is… I haven’t really had any thoughts and feelings recently that I would want people to read. Obviously as someone who is interested in making their writing eventually lead to something professional I want my blog to be readable and not just full of something I randomly threw together in a few minutes.

I know that a blog is a place where you can go to just be creative and let your ideas flow but what if no ideas flow… what if there’s no creativity this time?

That got me thinking about my future career and how a lot of my work will depend on my ability to be creative and find a story that I can write about day in, day out. The thought excites me as I’ve never been the type of person who could sit in an office all day and copy from a spreadsheet. I want to be out there doing things. I want to make my brain work. Yes, blogging is sometimes hard but its helping me and setting me up for a career that I know that I am going to love and enjoy. It’s allowing me to get a tiny glimpse into the kind of challenges I get the privilege of overcoming.


Thanks for reading this very short, very random spurt of thoughts but I haven’t posted most of the week because I was lacking these random spurts…

Abbie ♥

3 thoughts on “Blogging is Hard

Leave a Reply

